No Filter December – Day 22: Pilgrimage To The British Connection

20141222_113615_resized_1Since my parents, my brother and I left England 45 years ago, you would think I would be thoroughly Americanized by now.  Ah, but you would only think that if you had not ever been to my parents’ house.  It was a little piece of England.  We moved a lot, so that piece of England was transplanted quite often.

At any rate, when we finally settled in Southern California in the 70s, we had come to terms with not being able to eat our favorite British sweets and foods without a journey up the coast to Santa Monica.

20141222_113410_resizedAnd then, after many Jelly Baby-less years, we found The British Connection in Torrance.

Since then, it has become a necessity to visit this store every year at Christmas. When Alan and I got married, he became a British sweetie convert and insists on making the pilgrimage, with or without me.  Other people visit the Christmas lights at Sleepy Hollow section of Torrance; we go buy Cadbury Flake bars.

So here’s a shout out to The British Connection.  If you’re in the South Bay of L.A., give them a visit.  They are at 4413 Torrance Blvd., Torrance, CA 90503.  Very friendly people working there, without fail, and if you have no idea what to get, they can help you figure it out.  You can even tell them your budget and the age of the person you are buying for and they will put together a basket.

The girl stocking the shelf said they just can't keep enough Flake and Crunchie bars.  "This will be gone in a few hours," she said, piling the candy on top of the bars.  "I didn't believe them when I started working here, but it's true."  I confirmed her words by promptly putting a handful of each kind in my basket.  Oops.  Now my brother knows what he's getting for Christmas.

The girl stocking the shelf said they just can’t keep enough Flake and Crunchie bars. “This will be gone in a few hours,” she said, piling the candy on top of the bars. “I didn’t believe them when I started working here, but it’s true.” I confirmed her words by promptly putting a handful of each kind in my basket. Oops. Now my brother knows what he’s getting for Christmas.

Just a note – you can buy Cadbury at regular grocery stores, but the British Connection sells the real stuff.  Yes, there is a difference!

20141222_113518_resized_1

Categories: Around Town, Christmas, Family, Los Angeles | Tags: , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “No Filter December – Day 22: Pilgrimage To The British Connection

  1. Nico Kay

    Julia,

    For the annual Christmas Tea at New Hope in Simi, Sue used to shop at the hare and Hounds in Thousand Oaks! It was the only place she could get Clotted Cream.

    http://www.yelp.com/biz/hare-and-hounds-thousand-oaks

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

