No Filter December – Day 17: Why Not?

Today I packed up the kids and went back to Mexico. You might ask me why, the week before Christmas when there are so many errands to run and parties to attend, I would leave the country for a couple of days.

Well, because I could. Because last year I finally renewed my passport just so I could do stuff like this.  Because I had a small window of opportunity and if I didn’t take it, I would be delivering my missionary friends’ Christmas presents in February.  And because if it wasn’t that big a deal last week for my husband to unexpectedly jump in the car and drive to the border to deliver me my green card, then it shouldn’t be that big a deal for me to drive another 20 minutes past the border to visit my friend.

And really, why not?

Even though Alan couldn’t take any more time off from work and come with us, I was confident that I could manage it. So I did. There was a horrendous rainstorm the night before, but by the time we hit the road, it was a beautiful day with spectacular clouds.  Again, I apologize, but we Southern Californians just don’t get weather like this much.  We must have shot 30 photos of the clouds.  And by we, I mean the 19 year old and the 14 year old, because I was driving.  Both hands firmly on the wheel.

Unlike this guy, who was driving in the fast lane next to us as we went through San Diego.

037

As soon as we crossed the border, the rules changed.  For example, this is the freeway in Mexico.

038

So, you know, in Mexico, if you need to get somewhere, you just walk there. Freeway, whatever.  It’s a road.

At some point it suddenly hit me that I was driving.  Me.  Driving.  In Mexico.  So the 19 year old took a picture for posterity’s sake.

049

I really wasn’t gripping the wheel as tightly as it looks. I was quite calm and relaxed, enjoying the scenery and wondering what the speed limit was and how that translated into MPH.

 

Just in case you are wondering, I put my passport AND my green card in my purse before I packed anything else.

 

 

Categories: Around Town, Christmas, Family | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

