Diagnosis: Diabetes. No Filter Friday

Since it’s No Filter Friday, I will not attempt to write all these thoughts into a “piece,” but will instead simply categorize the list as

Everything I Said On Facebook About Living With Diabetes That Didn’t Get Made Into A Separate Blog Entry.

October 11, 2013
Ryan is doing really well.. probably will go home from the hospital late tomorrow. In the meantime, Alan and I have received so much training about levels and dosages that our late night texts to each other consist of equations. #NerdsRule

080October 14, 2013
Determined to give himself the next shot, Ryan carefully prepared the syringe and then dropped it. It impaled itself in the hardwood floor and there it stayed, quivering. Well, if you’re going to drop your medicine, it might as well be cool.

October 15, 2013
Apparently the new diabetes regime is not enough for my brain to keep track of, because it has started inventing new, vital tasks that must be done daily and showing them to me in my dreams. Which is why I woke up at 7 a.m, clutching my phone, saying, “We have to do something at 7 every day. What is it, Alan? What is the 7 o’clock thing?”

October 16, 2013
So I now know two things: 1) It’s not a good idea to try to dispose of lancet needles in the dark at 2 a.m. and 2) Lancet needles are sharp. At least I got a good draw off it. Too bad I didn’t need to test my blood.

November 1, 2013
For dinner I picked tomatoes out back to put in a salad, and as I put a serving of salad on my plate I could have sworn I saw a pincher bug run across the plate.  I quickly lifted the salad up and found a blackened, wilted piece of lettuce, but no pincher bug, no matter how hard I looked.  So I convinced myself I had just seen the dark piece of lettuce falling onto the plate, not a bug or anything, and made myself eat it, tomatoes and all, because I just went out and picked them so I was darned well going to eat them.  And then, when I was close to being done, I looked down on my plate and found one of the test strips from Ryan’s glucose meter in my food.  A USED STRIP.   AAAAUGH.   Needless to say, I stopped eating.

January 21, 2014
Everyone is always going on and on about how painful it is to step on a Lego. I used to agree. Until I stepped on an insulin pen needle. #IWin

Categories: Diabetes, Family | Tags: , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Diagnosis: Diabetes. No Filter Friday

  1. Pingback: Diagnosis Diabetes: After a Year | Julia's Inner Monologue

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

