Of Nail Polish and Land Mines

The 17 year old is having to come to terms with women.  Which shouldn’t be that hard, since she is one, but she, like her mother, seems to be lacking the girly gene.  You know, the one that makes you adore nail polish, fear insects, giggle instead of contributing to conversations and approach life with an attitude of, “Oh, I don’t know, I can’t do that, I’m just a girl.”

Land Mine Museum

Land Mine Museum (Photo credit: Tomomi Sasaki)

Now, I’m not trying to be offensive here or communicate the thought that anyone possessing the girly gene is somehow less than, but it is a fact that she and I don’t seem to have it.  We just find it easier to talk to guys than girls.

Give me that bottom-line, fact-filled, I know right where I stand with you kind of communication any day over the hidden driveway, secret shortcut, land mine ridden, emotional roller coaster that marks the field of girly-girl conversation.

The 17 year old has met the challenge head on by coming up with a list of Rules For Communicating With Girls.  This includes things like:

  • When texting a girl, if there is no happy emotion attached to the thought, add one by means of smiley-face emoticons and pet names.

For example,

“I’ll bring your book to class tomorrow” apparently won’t do when it is addressed to a girl.

“I’ll bring your book to class tomorrow :)” is much more acceptable.  However,

“I’ll bring your book to class tomorrow, sweetie :)” is by far the most preferred.

It gives me a headache just thinking about it.

Which is probably why she just walked through the room, phone in hand, exclaiming, “I’m so glad I don’t have to date girls. I get to hang out with guys.  In fact, I’m going to marry a guy some day.  I’m so thankful for that.  Can you imagine being married to a girl for the rest of your life?  UGH!”

Categories: Relationships | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

